Construction & Demolition

CALGreen requires at least 65% percent diversion of waste generated during most construction, remodel, and demolitions projects. To increase your project’s diversion of waste from the landfill, consider deconstruction and reuse of materials first. Zero Waste Marin recommends using a Certified Facility to ensure proper recycling of construction and demolition (C&D) debris materials including wood, metal, asphalt, brick, concrete, tile and other waste. Ever wonder what happens to a debris box full of C&D Materials? Read this article to find out more. To learn more about deconstruction, read this article.

Make C&D recycling for your project easy:

  • Consider reuse and/or deconstruct first
  • Take all C&D materials to a Zero Waste Marin Certified Facility
  • Save and submit documentation of recycling

Get Started

Download and complete the Construction C&D Recycling Plan and turn it into to your jurisdiction’s building department indicating if you are using the Easy or Advanced Method.

If using the Advanced Method, turn in pages 1-2 of your Construction Waste Management Plan to the building department prior to construction as well.

Prior to Final Inspection

If using the Easy method, submit the Post Construction Recycling Documentation Form (pages 3-4 of the C&D Recycling Plan) along with documentation of recycling.

If using the Advanced Method, submit the Post Construction Documentation Form (pages 3-4 of the Construction Waste Management Plan) along with documentation of recycling.

Helpful Links

Certified Facilities List

This list of Certified C&D Facilities below has been approved by Zero Waste Marin’s Board of Directors. These facilities achieve greater than 65% diversion, verified by on-site inspections and a thorough review of operations. This facilities list will be updated on a regular basis. Click here to find more information about where to take what in our Recycling Guide.

Locations

Mixed C&D Processing Facilities
Asphalt Shingle Recyclers, LLC** https://www.beegreen.green 5900 Coliseum Way. Oakland, CA 94621 (510) 636-1166
Commercial Waste & Recycling, LLC https://www.beegreen.green 725 Independent Rd. Oakland, CA 94621 (510) 636-0852
Davis Street Transfer Station http://davisstreet.wm.com/index.jsp 2615 Davis St. San Leandro, CA 94577 (510) 563-4214
Devlin Road Recycling and Transfer Facility http://naparecycling.com/devlinroadrecycling 889 Devlin Rd. American Canyon, CA 94503 (707) 256-3500 x1222
Marin Resource Recovery Center https://marinsanitaryservice.com/marin-resource-recovery-center-mrrc 565 Jacoby St. San Rafael, CA 94901 (415) 485-5646
Redwood Landfill and Recycling Center http://redwoodlandfill.wm.com/index.jsp 8950 Redwood Hwy. Novato, CA 94945 (415) 892-2851
West Contra Costa Sanitary Landfill http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/depart/cd/ recycle/options/v5126.htm 1 Parr Blvd. Richmond, CA 94801 (510) 970-7246
Windsor Material Recovery Facility http://www.pacificsanitation.com/mrf-recycle-facility 590 Caletti Ave. Windsor, CA 95492 (707) 838-2597
Reuse Facilities*
Building Resources https://buildingresources.wordpress.com 701 Amador St. San Francisco, CA 94124 (415) 285-7814
Daniel O. Davis, Inc. https://www.davisdemolition.com 1051 Todd Rd. Santa Rosa, CA 95407 (707) 585-1903
Green Lynx http://greenlynx.net 3220 Santa Rosa Ave. Santa Rosa, CA 95407 (415) 890-5880
Heritage Salvage https://heritagesalvage.com 1473 Petaluma Blvd. So. Petaluma, CA 94952 (707) 762-6277
Marin Community Benefit Cooperative http://www.healthymarin.org 844 B St. San Rafael, CA 94901 (415) 454-9948
ReStore https://www.habitatsoco.org/about-restore 1201 Piner Road, Suite 500 Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (707) 568-3228
Urban Ore http://urbanore.com 900 Murray St. Berkeley, CA 94710 (510) 914-2701
  • *Facilities that do not have solid waste permits and handle only source separated non-solid waste materials. Please take salvaged materials and items here for reuse.
  • **Asphalt Shingle Recyclers only accepts source separated asphalt shingles and inserts.

Resources

Print This Page Print This Page