Zero Waste Marin Logo

Polystyrene Ban

The County of Marin and the cities of San Rafael, Mill Valley, Novato, Fairfax, and Sausalito each have a polystyrene ban ordinance.

Municipalities who have elected to adopt a polystyrene ordinance are at different phases of implementation and enforcement. Currently, an ordinance is in effect in the Cities listed below. Each ordinance has unique nuances, please click on the links for more details. Pdf files will open in a new page.

A Polystyrene to-go container with a red X through it

If you see businesses in these municipalities using polystyrene that is not in accordance with their ordinance, pleaseĀ contact us. We will alert the appropriate municipal representative who will work with that business to remove banned polystyrene materials or face enforcement measures.